Turner honors military appointees

By Scott Halasz

May 31, 2014

DAYTON — Congressman Mike Turner (R-OH) recognized the high school students in the 10th Congressional District who have received an appointment to the U.S. military service academies.

“It was an honor to recognize the students who will represent Ohio’s 10th Congressional District at the U.S. service academies this fall. At such a young age, these young men and women have raised their hands and volunteered to serve and protect this country. These future leaders deserve our congratulations and our gratitude.” said Turner.

Among the appointees was Bellbrook senior Alex Oldham, who will go to the United States Naval Academy. Oldham will become a third-generation Naval Academy attendee. His father, Jeff, graduated in 1958 and his grandfather, Ned, graduated in 1958. Alex hopes to play football for the Navy, as his father did.

Other Greene County residents to receive appointments were Hannah Collins of Bellbrook, and Hyo Jun Baek of Fairborn. Both will also attend the Naval Academy.

For a student to be considered for a military academy appointment, he or she must be recommended by an authorized nominating source. This could include the president, the vice-president, a member of the Senate, or a member of the House of Representatives. Receiving a nomination is only the first step in the process of receiving an offer of an appointment to a U.S. military service academy.

In addition to the nomination, students must qualify academically and are subject to character, leadership, physical fitness, medical fitness, and motivation evaluations. Only after passing each of these evaluations are students offered an appointment to the service academies.

A total of 10 were appointed by Turner. The others are Jordan Wiggins attending the United States Air Force Academy (Vandalia); Zachary Johnnson attending the United States Military Academy (Washington Court House); Conor Hickey attending the United States Naval Academy (Clayton); Noah Beemon attending the United States Naval Academy (Dayton); Lyle Plummer attending the United States Air Force Academy (Dayton); Jarrod Hardrick attending the United States Air Force Academy (Huber Heights); Hyo Jun Baek attending the United States Naval Academy (Fairborn); and Carmen Riazzi attending the United States Air Force Academy (Kettering).