Skyhawks announce Winter Sports award recipients

March 26, 2014

FAIRBORN — Fairborn High School hosted their annual Winter Sports Awards Tuesday evening. The Skyhawk Athletic Club hosted a dinner prior to the awards ceremony. Aside from the many athletes involved, the athletic department also recognized Dennis and Sharon Young, Tom Whalen and Trudy Mentzer for their photographs; Skyhawk Athletic Club, President, Pam Gayheart, Vice President, Scott Gibson, Vice President Scott Pelfrey, Secretary, Jen Titus, Treasurer, Chad Bocook for organizing and making sure concessions are open for all games; and the volunteer parents who donated their time to work the concession stands.

“Thank you to all that worked behind the scenes and helped out this season and may not have been mentioned – we appreciate all that you do! Special Thank you to the Hawks Nest for their support this Season! Hawk Pride!” the department said in a statement.

The following awards were among those presented:

MOST VALUABLE PLAYERS — A.J. Warner (Wrestling); Jacob Ryan (Boys Bowling); Sydney Renner (Girls Bowling); Jessica Collins (Girls Swimming); Nathan Dunn (Boys Swimming); Kayla Patterson (Girls Basketball); Jordan Michael (Boys Basketball); Kaitlin Becraft (Basketball Cheerleading); Eric Morgan (Academic Challenge).

FOUR-YEAR LETTER WINNERS — Austen Bolden, Gunnar Parr (Wrestling); Katie Profitt (Girls Basketball); Jacob Ryan (Boys Bowling).


First Team: Taylor Ramsey, Sydney Renner (Girls Bowling); Jacob Ryan (Boys Bowling); Kayla Patterson (Girls Basketball); Jordan Michael, Malik Jacobs (Boys Basketball); Gunnar Parr (Wrestling); Ashley Parsons, Nickie Butcher (Competition Cheerleading); Jessica Collins (Girls Swimming, 100-yard Freestyle).

Second Team: Hannah Borchert, Emily Bundesen (Girls Bowling); Dominique Redmon (Girls Basketball); A.J. Warner (Wrestling); Emily Hamilton, Isabella Richardson (Competition Cheerleading); Nathan Dunn, Kristopher Dierker, Anthony Blair, Logan Wild (Boys Swimming, 200 Freestyle Relay).

Honorable Mention: Tyler Cutlip (Wrestling); Arianna Wagers (Girls Bowling); Hunter Gibson (Boys Bowling); Krissy Bennett (Girls Basketball); Jordan Pumroy, Ryan Profitt (Boys Basketball); Danielle Dierker (Competition Cheerleading)

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR — Jordan Michael (Boys Basketball)

All-GWOC — Jordan Michael (Boys Basketball)


WRESTLING — Wins in a season: Gunnar Parr, A.J. Warner, 41; Team points scored: Gunnar Parr, 215; Near Falls: Gunnar Parr, 45; Career Wins: Gunnar Parr, 127; Take Downs: A.J. Warner, 89.

BOYS BOWLING — Two-game series: Jacob Ryan, 558.

COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIPS — Jordan Michael, Lake Erie College (Men’s Basketball); Kayla Patterson, Cleveland State University (Women’s Basketball).